The “Seekers” Prayer by John Gerstner (something to “chew” on)

“Dear God, whom I hate with all my being precisely because you hate and threaten me with hell, I hate this punishment perhaps even more than I hate you. Or, maybe I should say that I love my comfort even more than I hate you. For that reason I am asking a favor of you. I want you to make me love you, whom I hate even when I ask this and even more because I have to ask this. I am being frank with you because I know it is no use to be otherwise. You know even better than I how much I hate you and that I love only myself. It is no use for me to pretend to be sincere. I most certainly do not love you and do not want to love you. I hate the thought of loving you but that is what I’m asking because I love myself. If you can answer this ‘prayer’ I guess the gift of gratitude will come with it and then I will be able to do what I would not think of doing nowโ€”thank you for making me love you whom I hate. Amen.”

Comments
14 Responses to “The “Seekers” Prayer by John Gerstner (something to “chew” on)”
  1. Angela says:

    Hi Scribe! Good to see you back ! And, very good to see you finally saw the light and came on over to WordPress! LOVE the template! Definitely more “grown up”…very professional! Keep it up!

    IN Christ,

    Angela

  2. Scribe says:

    Thanks for the encouragement Angela! As I’ve stipulated in my last entry, the blog is still morphing through change…I like WP templates much better! I’ll work on my “official doctrinal statement while on my family retreat.

  3. Scribe says:

    Neither do I… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Angela says:

    I thought I should comment on the actual post…one word…WHAT????

    Angela ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. deviant monk says:

    two comments-

    1. You should make the audio optional, not auto-play. I am far too lazy to hit pause.

    2. I noticed my blog isn’t linked. Retribution will be swift.

  6. scribe7580 says:

    Angela,

    The Gerstner “Seekers” prayer was more to expose the fallacious nature of a typical “sinner’s” prayer…like this one:

    โ€œRepeat after me, Jesus I now confess to you all of the wrong and sinful things that I have ever done in my life. I ask that you please forgive me and wash away all of my sins by the blood that you have personally shed for me on the cross. I am now ready to accept you as my personal Lord and Savior. I now ask that you come into my life and live with me for all of eternity. I now believe that I am truly saved and born again.โ€

    The “seeker” prayer I posted seem to be more accurate in relation to sinner’s disposition to a God he hates.

  7. scribe7580 says:

    Hey Jason,

    Since we aim to please (and by “we” I mean me) and would not that thy wrath should fall upon us…I shall link to you but only if you promise to conduct yourself in a gentlmen-like manner. Agreed?

    BTW, I’ll make the audio optional, k?

  8. deviant monk says:

    I agree to your terms.

  9. deviant monk says:

    I also promise to limit my profanity to 5 per day. Ok, 6.

  10. scribe7580 says:

    I also promise to limit my profanity to 5 per day. Ok, 6.

    Only 6? I guess you are not the true cussologist I once thought you were.

  11. Angela says:

    Scribe, yeah , I get it! It is just sorta weird!

    ๐Ÿ˜‰ Angela

  12. scribe7580 says:

    It shows the true condition of a sin hardened sinner towards his Maker…

  13. Rhett says:

    Nice looking set-up you have here Scribe!!!

Leave a Reply

