The Passing of my Mother

My mother passed away on February 22,2008. She died at the age of 51years old of a severe aneurysm/cerebral hemorrhaging. She was admitted to the ER Weds. night (Feb. 20) but slipped into a coma before undergoing brain surgery. She passed away two days later as her health quickly deteriorated and was pronounced dead on the 22nd at 5:03 AM.  We will have a memorial service for her tomarrow at her church and her burial service the next day. She is survived by 5 children (including myself) and 4 grandchildren.

 My only source of comfort is that she gave her life to the Lord 4 years ago (which I was privaleged to lead to Christ by God’s good pleasure), and thus, by riding upon the merits of Another, is resting in a glorious heavenly bliss with the Blessed Savior. Praise God from Whom all blessings flow!! The grace and provision that God has extended to this family is beyond belief;we serve a good God!

 Your prayers are coveted…thank you.

Jesus said unto her, I Am the resurrection, and the Life: he that believeth in Me, though he were dead, yet shall he live: and whosoever liveth and believeth in Me shall never die. Believest thou this? (John 11:25)

But I would not have you to be ignorant, brethren, concerning them which are asleep, that ye sorrow not, even as others which have no hope.For if we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so them also which sleep in Jesus will God bring with him.(1st Thess. 4:13,14)

Comments
16 Responses to “The Passing of my Mother”
  1. Angela says:

    Scribe, I am so sorry to hear of your mother’s passing! We will keep you and your family in our prayers! Praise God that she is with the Lord! I am sure that is a great comfort to your right now!

    Deepest Sympathies…

    Angela

  2. I’m sorry to hear that friend. Our prayers go up for you and your family.

  3. bobby grow says:

    Sam,

    I am so sorry, just know we are praying for you and your family . . . the joy and peace and life she is experiencing now is surely what allows “grief with hope”. So sorry, Sam . . . (see Is. 57:1-2)

    In Christ,

    Bobby

  4. Scribe says:

    Angela,

    Your prayers are coveted…thank you for your condolences, but yes! Praise God she is with the Lord;who would wnna come back to this “dump”? Blessings to you and your family, sister.

    J.C. Thiabodaux,

    My arminian brother in Christ (LOL!) thank you for the prayers offered up on our behalf, the Lord has been really good to us in our time of grief and his provision has been phenomenal…great is our God and King who looks after the way of his saints! Grace and peace to you my friend.

    Bobby,

    Thank you for citing Isaiah 57 for me, it was a great comfort to read. We buried my mother yesterday and trust that she is rejoicing with joy unspeakable with our God…she has run her course, she has finished her race, we must continue with ours for Christ’s sake and glory.

  5. Gayla says:

    Oh my goodness, Sam! I am so very sorry to hear about your mom’s passing. I shall be in prayer for you and your family during this time of grief. I’ve been through it, and can certainly attest to God’s sustaining grace.

    Yes, we can rejoice that your mom is present with the Lord, but don’t deny the grieving process, because it is a reality that you will miss her!

    God bless you and yours, and may He comfort you as only He can.

    love you,
    Gayla

  6. Cristina says:

    Sam,
    My prayers are with you and your family. May you find strength in the Lord in days and months ahead. It brings great comfort when we know our loved ones are in the presence of our Savior. Take good care of yourself sam.

    In Christ,
    Cristina

  7. Mark Pierson says:

    Sam, having lost my mom I can say from experience that God is able to keep you in perfect peace.

  8. Gayla says:

    Scribey,

    Did you get my email? About IMing on Sunday? We’re just home for a second before we’re out the door again.

    Hopefully, I’ll be talking with you tomorow afternoon sometime.

  9. Gayla says:

    OK, where are you? You haven’t answered my email or commented here at your blog. Are you there? Are you ok?

  10. sean says:

    Brother in The Lord, I just want to tell you that even in the midst of your pain and personal lost you have still served to be a blessing for me. Your testimony gives me hope that God will use myself or whosoever he chooses to present the true gospel to my mother and that she too will come to The Lord! My family will definitely keep you in prayer.

  11. Gojira says:

    So sorry to hear about this Sam. You are in my heart as well as my prayers

  12. Scribe says:

    Cristina,

    Thank you so much for your gracious comments…thanks for being there for me…

    Mark,

    Thanks for your encourgement, and the fact that you can sympathize with my loss…

    Gayla,

    I’m sooo sorry for being aloof with regards to touching base with you, I’ve been “disconnected” a bit lately. Please accept my apology.

    Sean,

    Thank you for visiting and your exhortation to strive forward in the Lord…I covet your prayers and I pray that your mom would come to saving faith in the Lord Christ Jesus.

    Doug!? How have you been!? Long time no text…hope all is well with you brother…

    Thanks for being a friend…

  13. kangaroodort says:

    Scribe,

    What a difficult thing to lose a loved one. I dread the day since both my parents are still alive (but really getting up there in age). How blessed you are to know that you will see her again someday. My prayers and thoughts are with you.

    God Bless,
    Ben

  14. Hank says:

    I know this post is several months old but I wanted to say I am sorry for your loss. May the Lord bless you and your family with an extra measure of His glorious Grace in Christ.

  15. Lane Chaplin says:

    My prayers are with you and your family, Sam. Please let me know if I can do anything for you.

  16. Tariq Shabazz says:

    Brother, please accept my condolences for your loss. I hope the suffering was short nad that she is in heaven with her bridegroom.

    May the Lord richly bless you and your family

    Your brother in Christ,

Leave a Reply

