Revival on American Idol!?

While perusing through Dr. James White’s vlogs of the Jalal Abualrub debate, I inadvertently ran across a You Tube clip of American Idol’s rendition of “Shout to the Lord”. I don’t really watch (or care for) American Idol but was made privy to this performance by visiting Anglela Grow’s blog (To Live is Christ). In her brief observation, she was troubled, by what appeared to be, a superficial nod to Christ. I, too came to a similar  conclusion which was only reinforced when I saw the YouTube clip (shudders). What was more disturbing was the affirmational comments made by professing Christians.

Some heralded this performance as “spiritually moving”, “a work of God” and a host of other sentimentally ensconced declarations that shout (no pun intended) LACK OF DISCERMENT. These people seem to be basing their statements upon some emotional experience than on the  objective word of God. Am I being too critical or does the word of God give people like myself  Angela, and others who arrive at the same conclusion a reason to be skeptical? I believe it does…

After a lengthy conversation with a Samaritan woman in Sychar, the Lord rebukes the woman for her ignorance of the true God (John 4:22). She had false idealogical conceptions of the Messiah (and no real relationship to the God of Israel) yet with her sin and all (which the Lord does not bypass in the text) requests that Christ give her “living water”.  How does this tie in with my previous comments on American Idol? I wont pretend to look into the hearts of men but I’m willing to “bet” most (if not al) of those contestants are not Christians. The name American Idol should make any Christian recoil in disgust-do we seek to self-aggrandize through some popular medium to gain noteriety-wherein does Christ get the glory and does this not a violate the second commandment?

Well here is the You Tube video of the performance-you decide

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
6 Responses to “Revival on American Idol!?”
  1. Gordan says:

    What’s worse: An evangelical “worship team” that is just as unregenerate.

  2. angela says:

    I wrote a post regarding this as well. I don’t know exactly what AI was trying to do with this. What bugs me is the Christians who get all excited and now think that AI is a Christian show…kind of like how people think U2 is a Christian band because they have a few refrences to scripture in there songs. Give me a break! I am NOT falling for it! I think it is a marketing scheme to make their show more “family friendly”. I have heard that there ratings are slipping, so maybe they think if they throw in some Christian worship songs they can draw in the envagelical viewers! Whatever! God does not need AI to get attention!

    Great post!

    angela

    ps hope you are doing well and relying on the Lord as you mourn the loss of your beloved mother!

  3. Ministry Addict says:

    It can be heartbreaking to see people bowing down to the cult of celebrity in our times. Men and women, boys and girls, all of whom God so gloriously created for His own glory, seem to persistently ignore Him, and to make idols out of silly individuals famous for even sillier accomplishments. Most people know more about Paris Hilton than they do about Priscilla and Aquilla. We know more about Britney Spears than about the spear Saul threw at David. We know more about Heath Ledger than about the heath in the desert. How many of our children and young adults obsess over clothing, beauty products, hair styles, and weight loss, but could not begin to point to a Scripture that describes the true Biblical definition of “beauty?” We know more about what happened on the red carpet than about what happened on the Cross of Christ.

    Even spiritually-minded people seem to feel as if God alone is not enough. All types of Heavenly beings are worshiped in place of Christ. The saints are adored and offered prayers. Christ’s mother is deified. Angels are worshiped as if they were creators instead of creatures.

    This type of vanity must stop. What joy there is in realizing that God alone is worthy of worship and praise! What peace and power there is in knowing that there is only one mediator between God and man – the man Christ Jesus! In God’s creation, man can find anything he wants. But only in God Himself can man find what he truly needs.

    “Whom have I in heaven but thee? and there is none upon earth that I desire beside thee.” Psalm 73:25

  4. Scribe says:

    Gordan,

    I “feel” you on that….I think we may be inundated with plenty of those.

    Angela,

    What can I say; I totally agree with you, thanks for the “thumbs up” on my post.

    God does not need AI to get attention!

    Amen to that! Last I heard, the Holy Spirit was still effectively convicting the world of sin and drawing men to the Savior! I’ve gotta admit, I like your dogmatic attitude towards these ridiculous subchristian shenanigans. Thanks for your consistent concern, we visited the mother’s buriel site yesterday which is reflected in my latest post(just venting a bit), but thank you again for your concern, and yes, I am relying on the Lord and His Spririt. 😉

    Ministry Addict,

    Brother we’re gonna have to get you an “Amen Corner” that shouts louder than Pentecostals, cause I definetly agree with all your points here. It is most egregious when American “Christianity” is so couched in worldliness that bibllical illiteracy runs amuck. The Lord is sufficent and His word should sate a Christian’s soul.

    “Whom have I in heaven but thee? and there is none upon earth that I desire beside thee.” Psalm 73:25

    Thanks for the scripture reference, a few nights I started a prayer of mine with this scripture but I couldn’t remember the reference for the life of me… 🙂

  5. Ministry Addict says:

    You’re welcome. The Scripture from Revelation at the top of the site under “In Awe of Christ” helped me to remember a similar Scripture passage.

    I sometimes think the true measurement of faith is not an ability to impress men with spiritual gifts. It is the realization of our sin, compared to God’s holiness, while somehow yet receiving by faith the fact that He loves His true children unconditionally. The following passage of Scripture shows the attitude of the apostle Peter when he encountered Jesus Christ:

    “And Simon answering said unto him, Master, we have toiled all the night, and have taken nothing: nevertheless at thy word I will let down the net. And when they had this done, they inclosed a great multitude of fishes: and their net brake. And they beckoned unto their partners, which were in the other ship, that they should come and help them. And they came, and filled both the ships, so that they began to sink. When Simon Peter saw it, he fell down at Jesus’ knees, saying, Depart from me; for I am a sinful man, O Lord.” (Luke 5:5-8) “And when they had brought their ships to land, they forsook all, and followed him.” (Luke 5:11)

  6. Jfawygxb says:

    TRqBh0 comment5 ,

Leave a Reply

